Teacher Awards 2023: Winners announced

The winners of the inaugural Teacher Awards have been announced, following a hugely successful period of nominations.

The Teacher Awards were launched this year with the aim of celebrating the incredible work of teachers, school leaders and support staff working K-12 school settings across Australia who are working to lift student achievement and wellbeing.

‘It certainly hasn’t disappointed – the response was amazing,’ Teacher Editor, Jo Earp says. ‘With such a high standard of entries, our judges faced a difficult task in choosing just one winner in each category from the final shortlist. It’s an impressive list of winners that spans 5 states, and all school sectors.’

The Judging Panel this year was comprised of 9 experts in education, including Professor Geoff Masters, Professor Lyn Sharratt, Professor Pasi Sahlberg, Professor Pauline Taylor-Guy, Associate Professor Marnee Shay, Dr Troy Meston, Ben Sacco, Alex Wharton and Mali Jorm.

‘As a member of the Judging Panel I was impressed by the exceptional contributions these teachers are making to the teaching profession, student learning and wellbeing, and the work of colleagues. The 2023 applications showcased the passion and commitment of teachers across Australia and the vital role they play for children in their care,’ Professor Masters says.

The 2023 Teacher Awards winners are:

Leadership Award for Driving School Improvement
Melissa Shepherd from Laura State School, Queensland

Improving Student Learning and Progress
Catherine Young from Newman College, Western Australia

Cultivating an Inclusive and Positive Culture
Dr Todd Zadow from St Margaret's Berwick Grammar, Victoria

Excellence in Staff Collaboration
The team at Goondiwindi State High School, Queensland

Excellence in Curriculum Design and Implementation, sponsored by Grok Academy
The team at Catholic Education South Australia

Fostering Strong School-Community Partnerships
Rubina Shaheen Nawabi from Noble Park English Language School, Victoria

Improving Health and Wellbeing, sponsored by Bank First
Kate O'Donnell from GOAL College, New South Wales

Special Contribution Award
The team at Broadwater Public School, New South Wales

Over the coming weeks, Teacher will be publishing an article on each of the winners.

‘A special congratulations to all our 2023 winners, and the shortlisted finalists, and thanks to all those who submitted an entry to share how they’re making a positive difference to students, families, staff and the wider community,’ Earp says.

‘Thanks also to our expert panel of judges, sponsors, and all those people who made the inaugural Teacher Awards such a success. They’ll be back next year!’